Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rollusbillus Pottery & Ceramics
6 janvier 2011

Results of the kiln of 16th December!

23_Oven_Pottery_16_12_2010_201026_Oven_Pottery_16_12_2010_2010Last firing of 2010... was a very succesfull one! And the real succes was my little black bird that came out of the kiln just perfectly!

It was quite a surprise because I wasn't sure that the black glazing would be like I wanted it to be. Even the red nose of the little bird was quite nice! I was particularly amazed by the black glaze that was really neatly melted and created a nice smooth surface even in the cracks and where two parts of clay were connected. You never really know what to expect... But I was very pleased with the result. 24_Oven_Pottery_16_12_2010_2010

If you click on the pictures, you will be able to see them in the original size. And if you want to see it live, you will be able to see it in February in the CC Scharpoort in Knokke-Heist. More info to be found here later this year...

05_Oven_Pottery_16_12_2010_2010I have also made some nice plates and bowls, large and small ones all glazed with an ash-glaze, I use quite a lot. It gives the pieces a natural tone, which I quite like. On different types of clay you also get a different result. I will also try and make some ash-glazes with other types of ashes in 2011. So keep following my progress on this blog.

04_Oven_Pottery_16_12_2010_2010Here's a larger mixing bowl or dish or salad bowl, I also made. You can also see that the glaze colours darker where the layers are thicker. Even though it is quite thin, I like to see different colours appear.

12_Oven_Pottery_16_12_2010_2010And here are some more candle holders. The upper surface of the candle holders is treated in a special way so a design appears. The final creation is simply coloured with cobalt oxide wash and a thin layer of transparent glaze. Just to protect the holder. I quite like to make these. It's an intersting technique as you already know from previous articles and I'm sure I'll make more of these in 2011. 

I plan to create some decorative effects on the final product to give it a personal and unique touch. More to follow soon! Happy New Year to all of you!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Rollusbillus Pottery & Ceramics
  • On this weblog I'd like to share my passion for pottery & ceramics. Started in 2004 in art classes but this year in 2010 I'd like to start my own art studio! Enjoy and feel free to tell me what you think of it!
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité