Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rollusbillus Pottery & Ceramics
5 décembre 2010

And more from the kiln of 1st December 2010

05_Kiln_of___1st_December_2010These are a serie of bowls I made. They are simple forms, thrown on the wheel, and only the outside is finished and the foot of the bowl aswell.

You can notice that I got two different colours in the glaze, although it 's the same glaze I used. It's mainly the type of clay that I used that determines the colour of the glaze.

I used a simple ash-glaze recipe :

40% of ashes from my woodstove. I burn mainly pallets I get from work or other reject wood.

40% of kali feldspath, that I buy from my pottery shop.

20% of kaolin, that I also buy from my pottery shop.

Now, important is that I sieve my ashes through a very fine laboratory sieve (I got from a very good friend). This means that a lot of undesired particles are gone! This way I get a very fine and soft glaze with a smooth surface, ideal for dishes from which we eat!

07_Kiln_of___1st_December_2010Notice that all I make is always fired at 1260°C so that all pots are watertight and also dishwasher proof! 

This is a nice little teapot. I particularly am glad that the snout of the teapot is nicely done and fits perfectly on this teapot.

You can clearly see my stamp on the side of the pot.

I used a S5 glaze that I bought in my ceramics supply shop in Blankenberge (Johan De Waey). He makes a lovely deep blue glaze that up to now I have not managed to make myself.

I applied three layers of glaze (air-pistol) but I could have applied more, I noticed after it was fired. The inside is nicer, as I simply poured the glaze inside and then emptied it throught the snout.

A nice teapot that I will use for many years to come!!!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Rollusbillus Pottery & Ceramics
  • On this weblog I'd like to share my passion for pottery & ceramics. Started in 2004 in art classes but this year in 2010 I'd like to start my own art studio! Enjoy and feel free to tell me what you think of it!
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité