Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rollusbillus Pottery & Ceramics
5 décembre 2010

Latest creations... Kiln of 1st December 2010

Here are some latest creations that came out of the kiln on 1st December 2010.

01_Kiln_of___1st_December_2010This is a pot made with a specific technique so that the surface crackels.

You first throw a cylinder, then you apply a chemical substance. When the surface is dry, you then carve lines in the surface. You can use all kind of sharp objects to make lines, circles and other patterns.

Then you apply pressure from the inside and form a round shape. The lines and carves will then widen and a "craquelé" effect will be visible.

I learnt the technique from Hans (http://www.pottenbakken.be/).

Later you can finish the bottom of the object and then fire it in the kiln at 1000°C. The next step is of course applying a colour to the product. I applied a layer of cobalt oxide solution in water. I used rather a lot of cobalt oxide, to get a nice deep blue colour. I sprayed it on using an air pistol. After that I simply applied a thin layer of transparent glaze. I then fired the pot to 1260°C to get this result!

08_Kiln_of___1st_December_2010This second creation is also a new technique I recently learned from a colleague-potter.

It's a technique he copied from a famous potter. It is actually a pot in a pot and thrown upside down. It's my first try at this kind of pottery creation and I'm pretty happy with the result.

I actually used the same decorative technique as the pot above, so cobalt oxide and transparent glaze.

And honestly, in winter time, it's so nice to have on a table!

I'm actually making more of these, but on the recent ones I use another decorative technique for the top. You'll read more soon! 

I'll be glad to explain!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Rollusbillus Pottery & Ceramics
  • On this weblog I'd like to share my passion for pottery & ceramics. Started in 2004 in art classes but this year in 2010 I'd like to start my own art studio! Enjoy and feel free to tell me what you think of it!
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité