Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rollusbillus Pottery & Ceramics
18 janvier 2011

Etruskian & Roman influences...

I was in the library last week when my attention fell on some historian books about Etruskian and Roman art. It was a series of books which I took home and had a more detailed look at what the ceramic art was all about in that period. I was most surprised! And during a night my brain came up with some ideas...

01_Etruskisch___Roman17_01_201102_Etruskisch___Roman17_01_2011On the first picture you can see some drinking saucers, they used to drink wine and other beverages. I made my version, with a little influence of that time. They used to be made either from clay or bronze or other metals. 

The next step will of course be to make an interesting glaze... 

The next picture shows two bowls with just a little touch of decoration I got from the books. As they used a lot of "applied on top decoration" I thought of putting some "nails or bolts". Here aswelle I will need to make a interesting but natural looking glaze...

04_Etruskisch___Roman17_01_2011The last picture shows a goblet that I threw with also applied decorations. Some button like applications. You can clearly see the traces of putty that I used to stick the decorations on the object.

These objects are now drying slowly and will be going in the kiln one of the next weeks for the first "bisque" firing... So a little patience to see the final result in a couple of weeks...

I guess I will glaze all objects in the same glaze, as this is kind of a little collection. If the result is nice, I just might make some more!

Take care and be creative!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Rollusbillus Pottery & Ceramics
  • On this weblog I'd like to share my passion for pottery & ceramics. Started in 2004 in art classes but this year in 2010 I'd like to start my own art studio! Enjoy and feel free to tell me what you think of it!
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité